Cheryl Boone Isaacs

President, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Boone Isaacs was re-elected for a fourth term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on August 2, 2016 by the organization’s Board of Governors.  She has represented the Public Relations Branch as a governor for 24 years. She produced the Academy’s 2012 4th Annual Governors Awards.

Boone Isaacs heads CBI Enterprises, Inc., where she has consulted on marketing efforts on such films as “The Call,” “The Artist,” “The King’s Speech,” “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” “Spider-Man 2” and “Tupac: Resurrection.”  Boone Isaacs previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw numerous box office successes, including “Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me” and “Rush Hour.” Prior to joining New Line in 1997, she was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures, where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the Best Picture winners “Forrest Gump” and “Braveheart.”

Boone Isaacs is currently an adjunct professor at Chapman University’s Dodge College of Film and Media Arts and previously served as a filmmaker-in-residence for the University. She was an adjunct professor at the USC Cinema and Television School’s Peter Stark Producing Program, Columbia College Chicago, and Mount Saint Mary’s College.  She continues to guest lecture at USC, UCLA, Loyola Marymount, Bryn Mawr Film Institute, and Soka University of America.

Honors and Awards

  • Trustee for the American Film Institute
  • University of North Carolina School of the Arts’ Honorary Doctorate
  • Chapman University Dodge College of Film and Media Arts Honorary Doctor of Arts Degree
  • NAACP Hall of Fame inductee
  • Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation 2017 Pioneer of the Year
  • SCLC-SC 2016 Rosa Parks Humanitarian Award
  • Bryn Mawr Film Institute’s Silver Screen Inspiration Award
  • Dallas Film Society’s Dallas Star Award
  • Ischia Art Award – Ischia International Arts Academy
  • YWCA of Greater Los Angeles’ Silver Achievement Award
  • African American Film Critics Association’s Horizon Award
  • Essence Magazine’s Trailblazer Award
  • ICG Publicists’ President’s Award